Top 10 Most Humorous or Memorable Moments During the 2024 Total Solar Eclipse (by Ed Selender, 4/13/24, from this week’s office in Fort Worth Texas, one of the towns which experienced totality during the eclipse)

#10- Hearing the collective Ooh’s and Aah’s as the moon approached and passed by the sun.

#9- Putting on your dark suit and tie, like Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith, in Men in Black, while you had your solar eclipse glasses on.

#8- Seeing the quizzical look, on your boss’ face, when you explained to him/her your 20 minute absence, from your desk, by saying you were just checking the parking lot for excessive solar flare activity.

#7- Trying to determine, if the eclipse occurred at 2 PM, in Indiana, and 3 PM in Connecticut, how fast a train would be traveling between the two points.

#6- Counting up how many people noticed your home-made solar eclipse hat, which made you look a little like the Statue of Liberty.

#5- Doing the wave, with your friends, at your solar eclipse party, as the moon started to pass in front of the sun.

#4- Trying to explain, to your four-year-old, the difference between the umbra and penumbra.

#3- Nerding out by trying to post your photos, of the eclipse, before your 10 thousand other friends on social media did.

#2- Doing your best rendition, for your girlfriend, of the Temptations’ song “My Girl,” right before the eclipse (“I got sunshine on a cloudy day…” . Well, you get the idea).

#1- Trying to play “I Spy,” with your friends, while the eclipse was happening.

About edwardselender

I am a published writer who enjoys writing and sharing his opinions on all manner of subjects. My writing experience includes: 1) doing freelance writing, 2) having 45-50 letters to the editor (and some op-ed pieces) published in every major Connecticut newspaper in CT (New Haven Register, Hartford Courant, CT Post, Waterbury Republican American, as well as one piece in USA Today), 3) my master's thesis, and 4) writing and serving as associate editor on my alma mater UVa.'s daily paper The Cavalier Daily. Although I have a ton of writing experience, I am new at blogging. Some of the things I would like to blog about include: 1) my consumer experiences (both good and bad), as well as some consumer advice/advocacy, 2) pens (I collect good pens such as Pelikan, Waterman, and Parker), and 3) would like to post my letters/opinion pieces. In addition, I hope my blog will eventually serve as a forum for discussing and/or debating important issues of the day including public health, politics, sports, etc. I have a Master of Public Health degree, 13 years in health insurance, and over 2 1/2 years in human services. **** In honor of Dave Letterman's pending retirement, I will also be posting "Top Ten Lists" created by myself and in conjunction w/ my buddy (title of each list indicates authorship). ****
This entry was posted in Top Ten Lists. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment